Posted in pastel painting, pastel painting demo

A Light From Above: Pastel Painting Demo

Hi Creative Friends!

Today I bring you a brief pastel painting demo and accompanying video of a beautifully lit scene that inspired me to run outside with my camera when I saw it. 🙂

As you can see in the reference photo below, the far tree-line was lit with orangey-gold light, and it contrasted in such a lovely way with the dramatic sky and the darkened foreground…definitely inspiring!

I began my painting with a soft vine charcoal sketch on Pastelmat paper. You can see my thumbnail sketch to the left of my support.

Sketch

 Next I blocked in the major shapes….

Block-in

My palette of colors using a mixture of hard and soft pastels:

 

Here is the final painting!

A Light From Above  6×8 pastel on Pastelmat

Below is the link to my Youtube channel for those of you who would like to watch a video of this painting coming together. I hope you enjoy it as much as I had fun painting it!

Thanks for visiting! 

Till next time,
Stay inspired!

~Rhonda 

Author:

Rhonda is an artist, violinist, mountain dulcimer player, composer/arranger, homeschool mom, and chicken/goat farmer. To purchase her fine art, visit www.rsorrellsstudio.com

Leave a comment